WCAG Level A standards - ELA Hub

WCAG Level A standards are the basic criteria you need to meet, to make your eLearning accessible and to comply with accessibility legislation. On this page we give you links to instructions for 10 of the 30 Level A standards. We have chosen these 10, because we think they will have the most significant positive impact for your learners.

“I know that if people learn how to help, they will.”
Haben Girma

Contact us

We cover only 10 of the 30 WCAG Level A criteria on our site. Contact us to find out more about how to meet all of the required standards.

eLaHub WCAG Level A instructions

Select the links below to access our instructions and examples.

WCAG key facts

  • WCAG standards are produced by WAI (Web Accessibility Initiative), part of W3C (World Wide Web Consortium).
  • They are the most comprehensive, and widely used international digital accessibility standards.
  • They are used for accessibility audits, so are pass or fail standards.
  • There are 3 levels of criteria A, AA and AAA.
  • Most legal compliance specifies up to Level AA (this is true in the UK but may not be in other countries).
  • The latest version of the guidelines is 2.1, and was introduced in June 2018.
  • To meet the UK Public Sector (Website and Mobile Applications) Accessibility Regulations 2018, you must comply with all 50, A and AA criteria.


The instructions we give, are our interpretations of WCAG standards from an eLearning perspective. To ensure you meet all WCAG 2.1 legal requirements please refer to W3C guidance.

Back to top